Posted by: sugarbitescakes | December 30, 2013

Ferrari Cake

A friend of ours asked a long time ago if I could make a Ferrari cake for her boy who was turning 10. I’ve been itching to make a car cake for a while so I said YES!

The specific car she wanted was a Ferrari Berlinetta.

Very nice! I did my best to do it justice.

I started by carving the shape into some chocolate butter cake. I printed out profile views of the car and used them to get the correct shape as best as I could.

IMG_7319

Then I iced the car with chocolate Swiss meringue buttercream.

IMG_7320

I missed taking a few pictures after that. I covered the window parts, tire parts and bumper parts with black fondant before covering the entire car with red fondant. Then I cut away the windows, tire areas and bumper parts. I used fondant tools to make the outline of the hood and to indent places I wanted to indent to give the car it’s shape.

IMG_7323

I made some small details out of fondant and gum paste and left them off to the side to dry.

IMG_7329

Once the pieces were assembled, I had a pretty nice looking little Ferrari cake.

IMG_7330

IMG_7331

IMG_7332

IMG_7335

IMG_7337

IMG_7339

IMG_7340

The birthday boy was thrilled and the kids devoured the cake in about 10 seconds. It was totally worth it. I’d love to do another car cake sometime!

Responses

  1. hi! just want to ask how did u make d ferrari logo out of fondant… thanks…

    • I hand cut the small horses out of thinly rolled and slightly dried gum paste. The black and yellow logos were hand painted.


Leave a Reply

Categories

