Posted by: sugarbitescakes | November 18, 2013

Icing Smiles – Rainbow Cake

Earlier this year I signed up with Icing Smiles. It’s a great charity where bakeries or home bakers can sign up and be contacted when families of sick kids need a cake for a birthday or other celebration. I signed up and didn’t hear anything for a long time. Then I got a request, but wasn’t able to do it at the time it was needed. I thought they’d never ask again.

Then I got another request that I had time to do. It was for a sweet 4 year old named Tegan who was diagnosed with Acute lymphoblastic leukemia when she was just 2 and a half. The request was for a party to celebrate Tegan’s end of chemotherapy and her 5th birthday. The way Icing Smiles works is that the family can request a theme, but the baker gets artistic license with that theme. Tegan wanted “rainbows”. So I gave her rainbows!

IMG_7192

I started with brightly coloured white cake in rainbow colours. They turned out better and brighter than I ever thought they would.

IMG_7195

IMG_7208

Then I covered the bright layers with plain old white Swiss meringue buttercream and covered it with plain old white fondant.

IMG_7212

At this point I still wasn’t sure what I was going to do. After looking at lots of pictures of rainbow cakes, I decided on rainbow hearts.

IMG_7215

I used rainbow sprinkles and some pearl dust to bring some sparkle to the cake.

IMG_7216

I don’t usually like to write on my cakes, but the family wanted writing and this wording was so worth it!

IMG_7222

With the timing of the cake I wasn’t sure if I was going to actually meet Tegan, but her mom brought her by to pick up the cake! I was so happy to have the chance to meet this brave little girl!

IMG_7240

Tegan’s mom sent pictures of the inside of the cake after they cut it.

IMG_7271

Doing this first cake for Icing Smiles was totally worth it. I will most definitely do as many as I can in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

