Posted by: sugarbitescakes | September 15, 2013

Super Avengers Cake

Every year I get to do a cake or two for our friends’ kids. Their birthdays are close so last year I made a Pirate Ship Birthday Cake for their shared birthday party.

This year their dad requested an Avengers cake and sent me THIS as an idea:

avengers

Because that cake would feed their entire neighbourhood, I scaled it back a tad.

But I had an idea that would make it Super…

The finished cake looked like this. But along the way I tried to think of ways to make the top light up like Iron Man’s chest. I had my husband search for flashlights and other lights and thought of ways to do it, but it ended up being right under my nose.

IMG_6906

We have wireless LED lights in our storage room. Perfect! I cleaned one up, set it in a tupperware container, and set that inside the cake. I covered the light with gum paste to get the right light pattern (husband’s idea!) and was able to control the light wirelessly with a switch. My first time using electronics in a cake!

IMG_6910

I was excited to get everyone’s reaction. Because it was covered in gum paste, you couldn’t tell there was a light in there. I couldn’t stop turning my cake on and off.

IMG_6918

We got it to the party and set it on the table. They boys loved their Super cake!

IMG_6928

IMG_6933

The pictures didn’t show the light very well, so I took a quick video to show it off:

Happy birthday Noah and Everett! I’m so glad I’ve been able to make ALL of your birthday cakes!

Responses

  1. That is all kinds of awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

