Posted by: sugarbitescakes | July 29, 2013

Thomas the Tank Engine Cake

Even though I don’t “officially” do cakes anymore, I like to make the occasional cake for friends or family. This month a friend of mine asked if I could make a Thomas the Tank Engine cake for her son and since I had some time and I like doing kids cakes I agreed. And I’m glad I did. It was a fun cake to make.

I baked 2 12″ square cakes and cut each in half then stacked them.

IMG_6703

The chocolate butter cake was filled and iced with Swiss meringue buttercream.

IMG_6704

IMG_6705

The cake was covered in fondant and all decorations are all fondant with the exception of Thomas’s face which was made of gum paste.

IMG_6709

IMG_6710

IMG_6711

IMG_6714

IMG_6718

IMG_6723

 

My friend said her son loved the cake. Totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

