Posted by: sugarbitescakes | September 9, 2012

Pirate Ship Birthday Cake

I love doing kids birthday cakes! Especially for these two! I’ve made ALL of their birthday cakes so far:

Noah’s First Birthday

Noah’s Second Birthday

Everett’s First Birthday

Noah’s Third Birthday

This year because their birthdays are so close they shared a really fun pirate birthday!

Untitled

I started with 4 9 x 13 cakes – 2 chocolate butter cakes and 2 white butter cakes. They were stacked and filled with Swiss meringue buttercream.

Untitled

Then the whole thing was iced with Swiss meringue buttercream…

Untitled

And covered in brown fondant.

I meant to take more photos along the way, but I got really into it and forgot. I pressed a wood grain mat onto the brown fondant to add dimension. I added some copper pieces and made a little cannon and treasure chest out of cake. The flags were printed onto paper and stuck onto skewers.

Untitled

The cannon balls were little dragees and the plank was a piece of Bernard Callebaut chocolate that I had lying around. The little figures were made of fondant and gum paste and painted with food colouring. I covered the board with marbled blue fondant and then coated it with some piping gel to add shine and waves then sprinkled some blue sprinkles on it.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I left the figures unattached so we could place them anywhere for photos or the boys could grab them (which they did!)

Untitled

Tasha did a great job decorating and had some really fun pirate stuff to play with!

Untitled

The boys loved their cake. I think Everett just wanted to play with it!

Untitled

There was a lot of cake left over…I may have over estimated how much was needed. Oh well…can never have too much cake!

Happy birthday guys! Can’t wait for next year!

Responses

  1. […] to do a cake or two for our friends’ kids. Their birthdays are close so last year I made a Pirate Ship Birthday Cake for their shared birthday […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

